Sizergh Castle

The castle came into the hands of the Strickland family through marriage in 1239 and for more than 700 years, until it was handed over to the National Trust in 1950, it remained in their possession. 

The biggest changes here came in the late 16th century when Walter Strickland decided to turn a medieval house, with its great hall and 14th century solar tower, into a desirable Elizabethan property. 

He added two wings and rebuilt the service block. He also commissioned much of the oak panelling and decorative wood carving, including the elaborate fireplace overmantels, that are such a feature of Sizergh and give the property its special attraction. 

In 1891, when the castle’s then incumbent fell on hard times, the fine patterned panelling in the inlaid chamber was sold to London’s Victoria and Albert Museum for £1,000. 

The whole lot has been gifted back to Sizergh by the V&A and now complements the ornate plasterwork on the room’s ceiling. The four-poster bed is pretty grand too. 

Outside, the 18 acre (7.3ha) garden includes a large limestone rock garden, a kitchen garden whose produce supplies the café, a lake, a wildflower bank, a long herbaceous border and an orchard. 

Sizergh Castle, Sizergh, near Kendal LA8 8AE (Sat Nav postcode LA8 8DZ): 015395 60951. Café, shop, parking. Wheelchair access: via ramps to ground floor. Directions: Sizergh is just over three miles (4.8km) south of Kendal, signposted off the A590.

Stay connected

Keep up to date with all the latest news from the LAKE DISTRICT travel guide.