Staveley

This large village is half way between Kendal and Windermere and certainly worth the two minute detour off the A591.

In the main street is St Margaret’s Tower, the only part which remains of the 1338-built St Margaret’s Chapel. Its nave was demolished in the 1860s and a new church, St James, was built a bit further up the road.

The choir stalls at St James’s were made by the well known Kendal firm of Arthur Simpson but it’s the east window that gets most attention, the stained glass created by William Morris to a design by Edward Burne-Jones.

A detail of the window, depicting an angel playing a bowed string instrument called a rebec, was used by the Royal Mail on a Christmas stamp in 2009.

Other interest in the village is centred on Staveley Mill Yard where, in the 19th century, the mill on site used to make bobbins and reels for the Lancashire cotton industry.

These days it’s home to a whole variety of businesses - bakery, brewery, food producer, furniture maker, cycle store and café included. Another fine furniture maker is up the road, almost next door to the headquarters of Cumbria Tourism.

Reston Scar overlooks Staveley and the rivers Kent and Gowan meet here too. There’s also a station on the Windermere to Oxenholme (Kendal) line.

Stay connected

Keep up to date with all the latest news from the LAKE DISTRICT travel guide.